Year in Review

Yes, I’ve been very bad about keeping up with my blog. I’ll add it to my list of “growth” areas for 2009.
*
These past few months I’ve kept myself busy with various writing projects and with yoga. The studio at which I teach, Yoga to the People (a by-donation studio with locations on St. Marks Place in New York and in Berkeley, CA), has been getting a lot of media attention of late. It’s been written up in Vogue, Yoga Journal and New York Magazine. Just recently Time Out New York declared YTTP a good place to meet singles. In January we’ll be opening up a hot yoga studio in Midtown. Exciting.
*
I’ve been back in Minnesota for about a week now. As soon as I got home from the airport, Cassandra and I launched our gingerbread project, thereby ensuring that Christmas would indeed happen. Gingerbread men sort of embody everything I love about life: ginger, happiness, anthropomorphized food. Like Paris, yogurt and Marias novels, we were made for each other.
Not my gingerbread men.

Not my gingerbread men.

There is something weirdly satisfying about being in a place that takes winter so seriously, where for about three solid months the mercury rarely creeps above freezing. I had a wonderful Minneapolis day yesterday, complete with a trip to the Minneapolis Institute of Arts and mock duck rolls at Jasmine Deli. There are so many perfect days to be had here. (The same is true for New York, of course, but the scarcity of my time here makes those days so much more poignant.)
The Frank Lloyd Wright area of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts

The Frank Lloyd Wright area of the Minneapolis Institute of Arts

Random observation: There’s more crepuscular purple in Minneapolis’s sky than in New York’s. Minneapolis often purples. Par exemple:

Purple Minneapolis

Purple Minneapolis

I feel like the sky often looks like this. Or perhaps that’s just how I like to remember it.

Leave a comment

Filed under cookies, Javier Marias, Minneapolis, New York, Uncategorized, yoga

Leave a comment