Sugar, bring me sugar

As you may have noticed, my blog posts on peeps dioramas and Candy Land are consistently the top traffic-attractors on Besotted Gleaner. Not because they are particularly interesting posts–I’m not especially proud of them. My family and friends certainly aren’t returning to them in times of uncertainty, mining them for their golden nuggets (or nougats?) of sagacity or anything. Rather, it is strangers who account for this heavy traffic. Random people that I don’t even know.

I can see what search engine terms bring people to my blog and I have learned this: the people love candy. Searches such as “marshmallow peeps” and “Queen Frostine Candyland” frequently direct seekers here, where candied pleasantries flow like Pez from my chronically backward-hinging head. (This all leads me to think that I should devote myself to candy writing–there seems to be an audience for it.)

On an related note, someone once searched “crazy horse gay” and came to my Medici post. (?!?!) I like to imagine the motivations that drive such searches…

*The title for this post is taken from yet another Tori Amos song.

gumdrops

2 Comments

Filed under candy, Candy Land, Peeps, Tori Amos

2 responses to “Sugar, bring me sugar

  1. Lois

    This one made me laugh out loud, something I haven’t done for several days….”where candied pleasantries flow like Pez from my chronically backward-hinging head”….this hilarious mental image sends me into hysterics….someone could probably do a psychological dissection of the internet search engine terms that people use….surely there’s a grad school thesis or dissertation in there somewhere….I love candy too, but I can’t say it’s the first thing that pops into my head when Google asks me if “I’m feeling lucky”….Speaking of marshmallow peeps, did Karen do a diorama this year?

  2. Karen

    I’m Sorry L- Dogg… I did not do a diorama this year. I decided to take the year off on account of the moving and wedding planning. I have too much going on and I didn’t feel like I would be able to devote my best efforts to it. If you look in the paper today, my favorite entry from this year is the “Goodnight Moon.”
    I’m already thinking of ideas for next year’s contest.
    Hope the Dolls have a lovely Easter!

Leave a comment